SAP wins annual award for Treasury Excellence

Nov 10th 2014 |

The annual EuroFinance Award for Treasury Excellence is the benchmark for treasury best practice. Past winners include Microsoft, Toyota FS, Vodafone, MerckKgA, AkzoNobel and Siemens.

Winner 2014: SAP SE

This year the EuroFinance Award for Treasury Excellence went to the company that we judged best embodied our theme of embracing disruptive innovation. SAP SE has recognised that the finance function can drive change and really add value. Accepting the award on behalf of the treasury team, SAP Germany's CFO, Dr Matthias Heiden pointed out that innovation has played a huge role in the company's history, with technology innovations driving each leap in revenue. SAP now expects to drive further innovation as it expands into markets such as China, Africa and Brazil. Treasury will play a key role in the company's financial success in these new markets.

Read more about further reasons behind SAP SE’s award in this year’s Treasury Perspectives magazine.

Highly commended 2014

  • Bharti Airtel
  • Toyota Financial Services

Bharti Airtel and Toyota Financial Services were both highly commended for the award, and Harjeet Kohli and Theodore Zarrabi collected the awards for the respective companies.

Show us what your treasury does best in 2015!

The nature of the EuroFinance Treasury Award for Excellence means that it adapts every year to the main themes arising in the world of treasury over the coming 12 months. These will be reflected in our annual flagship event.

The theme for the 2015 EuroFinance Award for Treasury Excellence will be announced at the end of March 2015 and the award will be presented at the International Cash and Treasury Management conference in Copenhagen (September 23-25, 2015). If your treasury has a great story to tell, you will have until 29 May 2015 to let us know.

The 2015 award will be an opportunity to have your treasury team’s achievements acknowledged and rewarded. It’s easy to enter the award – after all, in showing what you can achieve, you’ve already done the hard part. The simple procedure and guidelines are detailed below.

We are looking for a good narrative that shows how a treasury has adapted to the extremes of world volatility. That means there aren't any checklists or lengthy submissions. We don’t want check-boxes, because that’s not your kind of treasury. What we are looking for is a compelling story. Ideally, to excite our interest, that story can be given simply in bullet points on one page of A4 paper showing concrete examples.

I look forward to hearing what you’ve been up to.

Katharine Morton
Editorial Director (Chair of Judging Panel)


Award criteria and eligibility

The 2015 EuroFinance Treasury Award for Excellence will go to the company that best embodies the themes of the 2015 International event, to be announced end March 2015.

How to enter: guidelines and tips

Entrants must send a clear explanation as to why they should win the EuroFinance Treasury Award for Excellence 2015. Submissions should ideally be on one page of A4 and be in English.

Entrants may submit whatever brief supporting material they wish, but this must have English translations of the most important components for them to be relied upon by the judges.

Testimonials from, for example, the entrant’s chief executive, investors, bankers, or internal customers/stakeholders may be helpful but are not necessary.

Any commercially sensitive information in the entry should be marked as such and will not be publicised by the judging panel. Please note, however, that the judges will not find it possible to present an award to an entrant that does not offer an adequate amount of publishable material. The deadline for entries will be 29 May 2015.

Winner’s entitlement

The winner will be entitled to publicise themselves in perpetuity as the “Winner of the EuroFinance Award for Treasury Excellence 2015” and to use the appropriate logo.

An article about the winner will be published in the annual publication Treasury Perspectives, following an interview with a member of the magazine’s editorial team.

The winner will be expected to give a presentation at our International conference in Copenhagen (September 23-25, 2015) on their achievements which won them the award (unfortunately we are not able to cover travel/accommodation costs).

At the conference, the winner will be presented with the EuroFinance Award for Treasury Excellence.

Judging process

The judging panel will comprise members of the EuroFinance editorial, research and training teams, chaired by the Editorial Director. Their decision will be based purely on merit.

The judging panel may conduct its own additional research or put questions to the entrants in order to clarify the entrants’ submissions.

Shortlisted candidates may be interviewed by one of our senior editorial team and the most interesting story forwarded to our editorial panel.

The judging panel’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into with unsuccessful entrants other than to advise them of the results of the awards.

Entrants will be notified whether they have won or been shortlisted as soon after the closing date as a thorough judging process allows.

Anyone considering entering these awards who has any questions about the rules or procedures may email